U.S. Soccer

Builder Eligibility List

CRITERIA: All candidates must be at least 50 years old by Dec. 31, 2013, and must have had a positive impact on American soccer at the national federation or first-division level lasting at least 10 years. An exception to this 10-year rule applies to referees, whose time at the top of their profession is limited because they are required by FIFA to retire as international referees at age 45. Therefore, seven years as a FIFA international referee is considered sufficient.

ABOUT THIS LIST: This is the list of people that have been determined meet the requirements to be placed on the builder ballot for election into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 2013. This list is based on the criteria that were established by the Hall of Fame Board of Directors in April 2007.

PLEASE NOTE: Because non-playing accomplishments are not subject to the sort of statistical recordkeeping that playing accomplishments are, it is sometimes difficult to determine who has and who has not met those criteria. However, the Hall of Fame's historians have examined all the available materials and made determinations that most of the people on this list have met the criteria. The exception applies to people who were already on the Builders eligibility list before those definite criteria were established and who are older than 50 years old. Those people have been grandfathered onto this list whether they have met those criteria or not. When available, birthdates have been included below.

Esse Baharmast
born March 11, 1954
One of the leading American referees in the 1990s. Baharmast was Major League Soccer's top referee from 1996-98. He served as a FIFA international referee from 1993-98, including refereeing two games at the 1998 World Cup in France. He became a FIFA and USSF official after retiring from on-the-field officiating duties.

Chuck Blazer
born April 26, 1945
The General Secretary of CONCACAF from 1991-2011. Blazer was head of CONCACAF during a period of growth for the confederation, including the first 11 editions of the CONCACAF Gold Cup and the first three editions of the CONCACAF Women's Gold Cup. In 1996, he became the first American in nearly 50 years to be a member of the Executive Committee of FIFA. Blazer had earlier been an official of the USSF for several years in the 1980s and one of the founders of the third American Soccer League in 1988.

Bob Bradley
born March 3, 1958
Coach of the U.S. Men's National Team from 2007-2011, as well as in Major League Soccer. The U.S. Men's National Team's achievements during Bradley's tenure included winning the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup, defeating No. 1-ranked Spain, reaching the final of the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup and winning their group at the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Bradley also coached three MLS teams, the Chicago Fire from 1998-2002, the MetroStars from 2003-2005 and Chivas in 2006. He won an MLS title and the U.S. Open Cup title in Chicago's inaugural season in 1998, and was twice chosen as the MLS Coach of the Year.

S. Robert Contiguglia
born Sept. 14, 1941
Former president of the U.S. Soccer Federation. Contiguglia, who had served from 1990-1996 as chairman of U.S. Youth Soccer was elected to the U.S. Soccer Federation presidency in 1998 and re-elected to a second four-year term in 2002. During his tenure as U.S. Soccer President, several important soccer milestones were achieved, including a U.S. Women's National Team victory in the largest women's sporting event in history, the 1999 FIFA Women's World Cup, and in bringing the FIFA Women's World Cup back to the U.S. in 2003. He also served as a member of the board of the U.S. Soccer Federation Foundation from the group's inception in 1994 through 1996.

Don Garber
born Oct. 9, 1957
The Commissioner of Major League Soccer for more than a dozen years. Garber, who had been an executive of the National Football League, was named MLS Commissioner in 1999 and has overseen that league's growth from 10 teams to 19, during which time it has gone from being a struggling league to a thriving one. In addition to his work with MLS, Garber has served on the Board of Directors of U.S. Soccer and as CEO of Soccer United Marketing.

Burton Haimes
born May 22, 1943
A leading youth soccer administrator. Haimes served as either President or Chairman of the American Youth Soccer Organization from 1989-2009, and was a member of AYSO's board of directors for 30 years. He also has been a member of the boards of directors of the U.S. Soccer Federation and the National Soccer Hall of Fame and a member of several FIFA and CONCACAF committees.

Tim Leiweke
born April 21, 1957
A former MISL and current MLS team executive. Leiweke serves as president and CEO of Anschutz Entertainment Group which currently owns the Los Angeles Galaxy and Houston Dynamo, and previously owned several other MLS teams. Leiweke began his career in sports administration in soccer in 1979 as the assistant general manager for the Major Indoor Soccer League's St. Louis Steamers. A year later he became the youngest 24
general manager in professional sports when he joined the MISL's Baltimore Blast. Named Vice President and General Manager of the Kansas City Comets 1981-82, he was elevated to President in 1986. Leiweke has been heavily involved in building the teams that have won five of the last eight MLS championships as well as guiding the creation of The Home Depot Center in Los Angeles.

Francisco Marcos
born 1945
Leader of the United Soccer Leagues since its inception in 1986. Marcos, an official of several NASL teams over 10 years, founded the USL in 1986 as the Southwest Indoor Soccer League and led its growth through a series of phases, including as the Sunbelt Independent Soccer League and the U.S. Independent Soccer League. Marcos, who was president of the USL from 1986 to 2009, also has been commissioner of the A-League and a vice president of U.S. Soccer. He serves or has served on the board of directors of U.S. Soccer, the U.S. Soccer Foundation and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America

Fritz Marth
born - Feb. 23, 1935. deceased - Nov. 11, 2002
Longtime executive director of the U.S. Amateur Soccer Association. Marth was leader of that organization from 1981 to 2002, including the years when it conducted the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup along with its other tournaments. Before being head of the USASA, he was its Region I director and was heavily involved in the formation of the U.S. Soccer Senior Division.

Sigi Schmid
born March 20, 1953
A longtime college and Major League Soccer coach. Schmid coached the Los Angeles Galaxy from 1999 to 2004, the Columbus Crew from 2006 to 2008 and the Seattle Sounders from 2009 to present. He won MLS championships in 2002 with Los Angeles and 2008 with Columbus and was chosen as the MLS coach of the year in 1999 and 2008. Earlier, he had been a coach at UCLA for 19 years, winning three NCAA titles, U-20 Men's head coach, and an assistant coach of the U.S. team at the 1994 World Cup.